Turning your Wednesday into a Monday, a narrative…

So, typically (at least in some popular media), Monday is typically the worse day of the week.
It’s what we dread.  Or at least are told to.

Now, I don’t dread Wednesdays.  Nor do I really dread Mondays either…
However, this morning, this Wednesday morning, was slightly less than ideal.

Last night I decided to head into the City of Wind and check out an open mic night with a friend.  I hadn’t planned on staying in the Northern Territories that evening anyway, but my original plans were canceled and I didn’t really feel like staying home.
Regardless of going out — which I did return by 12:30a — that’s not what tipped the dominoes and toppled my morning.

My roommate, who generally showers in the evenings, beat me to the bathroom this morning.  My alarm hadn’t even gone off by the time she was in there.  So, rather than starting at my normal time, I was pushed back a bit.  This has happened before, and generally does not result in me being late.  I actually allow for a bit more time in the morning just in case this happens.

After my shower, I was mentally and nearly physically going through my entire woredrobe trying to find something I deemed suitable to wear for work (this is while trying to take care of two kittens).  This isn’t a jeans and t-shirt job.  Even though my boss wears jeans almost every day, I still have to dress “business casual” (though I am known to slack, jeans and a nice, clean shirt work for me).  Typically, I’m dressed by 7a — today, I didn’t even start putting clothes on until 7:15a.

Typically, again, I leave the apartment just after 7:30a, which allows me to saunter down to the train station to make the 7:41a Purple northbound.  However, the kittens being the adorable fuzzy demon children they are, I found myself continually moving books and important papers, along with removing them from my desk.  However, today the kittens decided to sample my book arts materials, more importantly, the paste paper I had made during my last undergraduate class ever.  My kittens have a serious case of the noms.

After putting away my bag of book arts supplies, I was able to leave home at 7:50a.  Being stalled slightly by a fellow passenger who decided to block the first turnstile while also being an obstacle for the other, I made it to the platform just after the train pulled away (the one after the 7:41).  It was after 8a when the next train came.  I am supposed to unlock the facility doors at 8a.

By the time all of this is done and I finally make it into the office, it’s nearly 8:30a.

Each one of these events wouldn’t normally be enough to make me late, but for whatever reason whatever deity or force you or I believe in decided that they all needed to occur this morning.  And since I was out the night before, my mind is telling me that I was irresponsible and shouldn’t have gone out on a work night.  However, I know completely that my going to the open mic with my friend played little impact on me being late to work.

So, basically, this is just a rant of my morning.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

