reflections on our national community (a discussion on the election night rally)

Mennogirl just posted a great entry about her experience last night…. and seeing as mine was so short and nondescript… I thought I’d directly recommend it for your reading:

I was there and I am so glad to be here

And my comment, which I’ll include for you:

It is amazing to have this great feeling of pride and respect starting to swell back up… to actually think, yes, I am proud to be an American…

I feel that change will definitely happen. Just look what Obama inspired just in regards to the vote. Americans want to take back our country and show the world we’re not just sitting back on our duffs anymore. We’re here, and we want to make our communities, our nation, and our world a better place.

Last night was truly amazing and it felt great to be surrounded by so many people who support this desire for a better America.

Congrats on being part of history with me my dear friend.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “reflections on our national community (a discussion on the election night rally)”

  1. mennogirl Says:

    awe thanks! I thought your post was really great too, and I am glad we could both be there.

  2. rini Says:

    had I not had a great blip in my memory, and would have actually charged my phone (and camera).. it would have been nice to attempt to find each other there.

    I was definitely impressed with how the masses behaved. Getting in and getting out was easy, though tight. There were a few moments, when this girl kept getting up on someone’s shoulders to watch, where she’d get yelled at a lot. At one point someone started throwing nickels at her — and then someone started yelling at the thrower to stop. Overall though, the group at Grant Park was pretty primed for a giant group hug. I’m sad we missed out on that opportunity.

Leave a Reply

