further proof that nerd are sexy (part 1)

This weekend, I took a break from my Wii (just purchased on Friday), and joined Sara, Adam, Dan, and Dan’s sister Susan for a night of nerdcore.

My previous experience with nerdcore has been through the wonderful and simply rad Mucca Pazza.  They might possibly be one of my favorite bands.  I’ve also gotten to know a handful of their members, and I actually play with a few of them once a month in the community reading band I’m in.

Anyway… nerdcore hip-hop is something pretty new to me.  And, well, as a young, attractive female with nerdy inclinations… why would I miss out on this?  I typically find in any nerd-related events that the numbers are in my favor as far as the gender ratios.

So I got to see Dual Core, Former Fat Boys, Whoremoans, YT Cracker, MC Lars and MC Frontalot.  It was a packed night that probably didn’t start until sometime between 11-11:30p.  I don’t think MC Frontalot started until after 2a…

FFB

FFB & Dino

I think Former Fat Boys was the act that sort of stuck out the most, as far as sort of not quite fitting in with the rest of the night…  Not sure.  It could have been style, it could have been what he rapped about, it could have just been him… Maybe he just didn’t seem nerdy enough for me.  He did how ever take off his pants, and even had a dude in a dinosaur suit come out for two songs… The dino however just walked around and occasionally threw his hands up.  I was expecting more.

Whoremoans had one song that well, I thoroughly enjoyed.  F- the Princess.  The beat was good, and song was catchy… and well… Sara and I just sort of laughed a lot during it.  Granted, we did that throughout the show.  Especially when one of Adam’s grad school friends licked Whoremoan’s man boob.  Seriously.

Anyway… Sara, Susan and I were basically just hanging out in the back (up in the seats), waiting for MC Frontalot.  Not that any of us were familiar with him…   Definitely worth waiting for.  And well… MC Frontalot is kinda hot.  Even hotter when he’s preforming.

MC Frontalot @ Penny Arcade Expo '04

MC Frontalot @ Penny Arcade Expo

The night was good.  The only downside was this small group of obnoxiously drunk people.  I mean, seriously, who tells the performer that you have a better tattoo than they do (though a zombie unicorn is decent)… But yeah, these drunk kids just sort of distracted from everything… The easiest way to be a giant douche at a concert is to get amazingly drunk, sing a long louder than the artist, and then assume this concert is all about you and just for you…. Personally I like to think that MC Frontalot wasn’t all that happy with at least one of them… If only I had a nerf bat with me (nerf just to avoid unnecessary lawsuits on assault and all that)…

We (including some more new friends) all went to the Pick Me Up for some post-concert food.  Being that it was about 3a or maybe later, I opted for a chai… Adam got ice cream, which I thought was silly since it is cold out.  And that’s all I’ve got for that.  … I arrived home at 5a… I could have stayed up and continued with Guitar Hero… but I was one sleepy dinosaur.  (and no, not the type of dinosaur FFB had…)

Videos in part 2.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “further proof that nerd are sexy (part 1)”

  1. rini Says:

    I do want to say I’ve got nothing against FFB. .. just fyi.
    I mean, the dude was kinda hot. … but it’s hard to top Frontalot’s total amazing nerdiness, which is indeed hot.

  2. eighty Says:

    Heya! Thanks for the post, I’m glad you enjoyed the show. We all had a blast in Chicago. Hopefully we can all make it back again.

    -eighty

    PS: Our group is Dual Core (like the CPU), not duel core. We appreciate the link, though :]

  3. rini Says:

    oops. Sometimes my fingers work quicker than my neurons and the signals, well, who knows where they end up.

    I’ve got it fixed now.

    I look forward to the next time you guys are in town!

  4. eighty Says:

    Thanks so much! I can’t wait to come back to Chi 😀

Leave a Reply

